Skip to content | Change text size

Chemical engineering

Key resources

SciFinder scholar. Client version (connect | more information)

SciFinder Scholar is a bibliographic database for chemistry, chemical engineering, and many other scientific areas. It allows searching by author name, research topic, company (or institution) and chemical substance or reaction and by chemical structure. It provides access to journals, books, conferences, patents, dissertations and technical reports. The information is retrieved from several Chemical Abstracts Service databases, including CAPLUS (1907 to present), CASREACT (1974 to present), and CAS Registry (1957 to present), and also from MEDLINE (1958 to present).
Licence restrictions: 4 simultaneous users: Monash staff and students only.

SciFinder Scholar Support Information

SciFinder. Web version (connect | more information)

SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service) databases that contain literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, etc. You can explore one single source for scientific information in journals and patent literature from around the world. Search by chemical structure, research topic, author, company, substance name, or reaction.--American Chemical Society product information page.
Note: - Restricted to 4 simultaneous users: Monash staff and students only.

 


Other resources

AccessEngineering (connect | more information)

AccessEngineering is a redesign of the premiere online engineering resource, formerly known as McGraw-Hill's Digital Engineering Library. AccessEngineering features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers. A selection of more than 250 engineering books is available. Focused around 14 major areas of engineering, AccessEngineering features a new taxonomy book view offering comprehensive coverage and faster title-by-title access to the engineering collection in the following subject areas: Biomedical - Chemical - Civil - Communications - Construction - Electrical - Energy - Environmental - Green/Sustainable - Industrial - Material Science - Mechanical - Nanotechnology - Optical. In addition, the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Engineering is embedded on all search pages.

  • Includes full text
  • American elements (connect | more information)

    This company site includes detailed descriptions of a wide range of advanced and engineered materials including properties, safety information, applications and manufacture, particularly for academic research and laboratories. A periodic table diagram can be clicked on to find elements or they can be browsed alphabetically. There is also detailed information on fuel cells, nanotechnology, crystal growth, coatings and solar energy. Details of services offered by the company are provided.

  • Includes full text
  • Australian nuclear science & technology information : ANSTI (connect | more information)

    ANSTI provides access to over 34,000 bibliographical references (most with abstracts) to Australian scientific and technical literature covering the broad spectrum of nuclear science research and development, with special emphasis on its peaceful applications and the economic and environmental aspects of non-nuclear energy. It indexes all relevant Australian publications and all relevant Australian authored material including non-published material from 1970.

    Australian Standards. See: Standards on-line premium (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • CHEMnetBASE : chemical databases online (connect | more information)

    CHEMnetBASE provides access to the major chemical reference works published by Chapman & Hall/CRC. It includes several chemical dictionaries structured as searchable databases.

  • Includes full text
  • Chemwatch (connect | more information)

    Chemwatch is one of the world's largest supplier of independently researched MSDS (Material safety data sheets) and other related documents.

  • Includes full text
  • Off campus: Not available.

    CHERUB : chemical engineering reference user bibliography (connect | more information)

    CHERUB is a bibliographic database that indexes articles taken from journals on all chemical engineering topics. Subject areas include design and operation of chemical plant and equipment, chemical process information, process control, environmental considerations and mineral processing. Source documents include journal articles taken from 49 most important chemical engineering and related journals such as "American Institute of Chemical Engineers Journal", "Chemical Engineer" (UK), "Chemical Engineering" (USA), "Powder Technology", etc.

    Compendex (connect | more information)

    Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database. It provides access to citations and abstracts from over 5,000 engineering journal titles, conference proceedings and technical reports dating from 1884. It is updated weekly and features include saved searches and email alerts. Apart from major engineering fields, subject areas covered include bioengineering, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, nuclear technology, aerospace and automotive engineering and transportation. Indexing started in 1884.

    Current contents connect (connect | more information)

    A current awareness research database that provides access to the tables of contents and bibliographic citations from current issues of the world's leading scholarly research journals covering all disciplines including the sciences, social sciences, technology, the arts and the humanities. Selected abstracts and records for more than 3,600 web sites that have been selected by editors at ISI for their relevance and quality are also included. A facility is available to save searches and set up a personal email alerting service.

    Encyclopedia of electrochemistry (connect | more information)

    This comprehensive reference provides all the pertinent information in the field of electrochemistry. Regularly updated.

  • Includes full text
  • Encyclopedia of polymer science and technology (connect | more information)

    The Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology comprises of more than 300 articles on all aspects of the field. Coverage includes nanotechnology, new imaging and analytical techniques, new methods of controlled polymer architecture, biomimetics, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, polymerization processes and more.

  • Includes full text
  • ENGINE : Australian engineering database (connect | more information)

    ENGINE, produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australian engineering and in particular the publications of the Institution since 1980. It provides access to conference papers, journal articles, books, news articles and unpublished papers. It covers all branches of engineering including aerospace, biomedical, geotechnical, ocean and military.

    Engineering village (connect | more information)

    This online service provides access to bibliographic databases within the scientific, applied science, technical and engineering disciplines to which Monash University Library subscribes. These databases include: Compendex, EI Backfile, Inspec, NTIS, Referex Engineering, Patents, GEOBASE, GeoRef and CRC ENGnetBASE. Source documents comprise journals, conference proceedings, technical reports, dissertations, patents and books published from around the world.

  • Includes full text
  • ENGnetBASE (connect | more information)

    ENGnetBASE is a database containing the full-text of all engineering handbooks published by CRC Press in electronic format. The titles cover a wide range of engineering disciplines, as well as some computer science and physical science areas.

  • Includes full text
  • Environmental sciences and pollution management (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database indexes and abstracts literature in the field of environmental sciences. Source documents include scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, books and government publications. Major areas of subject coverage include: agricultural biotechnology; air quality; aquatic pollution; bacteriology; ecology; energy resources; environmental biotechnology; environmental engineering; environmental impact statements (United States); hazardous waste; industrial hygiene; microbiology related to industrial & environmental issues; land, air, water, noise, solid waste and radioactive pollution; risk assessment; safety science; toxicology & toxic emissions; waste management; and, water resource issues.

    Handbook of heterogeneous catalysis (connect | more information)

    With almost 200 expert articles in 8 parts, Handbook of Heterogenous Catalysis provides easily searchable yet comprehensive information. [Covers] all aspects of the subject, from the physico-chemical fundamentals to large-scale industrial applications.

  • Includes full text
  • Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology (connect | more information)

    This encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work on chemical technology. Subject areas include chemical reactions, combinatorial synthesis and technology, environmental protection, industrial safety, pharmaceuticals, processes and process engineering and much more. Users can search by key words, author, Chemical Abstract Registry Numbers, etc. Its major articles are well-illustrated with charts and figures and extensive bibliographies.

  • Includes full text
  • Knovel library (connect | more information)

    Knovel's Library provides access to over 800 reference works, handbooks and databases. The content covers subject areas in the fields of Chemistry and the Life Sciences; Materials; and Engineering. The collection is continually expanding. Sourced from major Sci-tech publishers including John Wiley & Sons, McGraw-Hill and Elsevier, the data is enhanced with time-saving analytical tools to help analyze and manipulate the data.

  • Includes full text
  • MSDS Australia (connect | more information)

    Online collection of over 25,000 Australian material safety data sheets. The aim is to provide NOHSC compliant MSDS's to the Australian public to foster the safe use of chemicals and other products.

    MSDS database (connect | more information)

    MSDS is a comprehensive database of more than 310,000 Material Safety Data Sheets, obtained directly from 2,000 North American manufacturers and suppliers. Each sheet, representing a common industrial or commercial chemical, provides detailed chemical and physical properties, health, fire and reactivity hazards, as well as recommendations on storage and handling, spill and disposal procedures, accidental release, personal protection and first aid. Part of CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) Web Information Service. On average, over 60,000 records are added or replaced each quarter.

    Organic reactions (connect | more information)

    Organic Reactions is a comprehensive collection of important synthetic reactions, together with a critical discussion of the reaction and tables that organize all published examples of the topic reactions. Chapters that focus on reactions of current interest are solicited by the board of editors from leading chemists worldwide. Organic Reactions currently consists of over 140,000 reactions, and will continue to grow annually. Organic Reactions is the definitive resource for synthetic transformations, with an emphasis on preparative aspects. Comprehensive coverage of all examples of a given reaction is provided in tabular form. In addition to providing reaction scope, stereochemical aspects, and side reactions, a selection of representative experimental conditions are given.--Reference work home.

  • Includes full text
  • Polymers : a property database (connect | more information)

    Provides scientific and commercial information on polymers in a single source. Guides the user through the primary literature via reference citations and though supplier details by providing trade names and commercial product information. Searches by polymer, properties, trade name, application, and more. Provides comprehensive browsable indexes covering the range of property information available. Provides tabulated displays of search results and polymer data as well as monomer data cross-referenced from the relevant polymers. The database contains hotlinks to text files and ... to interactive tables of data. These interactive tables allow you to choose which data to view and how you would like to select, sort, filter and view the data.

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest dissertations & theses (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, abstracts and reviews of mostly US Masters and PhD theses. It is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. PQDT - Full Text includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. More than 60,000 new full text dissertations and theses are added to the database each year. Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    Referex engineering (connect | more information)

    Referex Engineering is a searchable database providing access to the full text of over 1,600 engineering books, including handbooks, reference books, academic or scholarly books, how-to-guides and titles focussed on technique and practice, as well as specialised professional information.

  • Includes full text
  • RTECS database (connect | more information)

    This database contains detailed profiles of over 140,000 chemical substances. Each profile provides relevant toxicological information, hazard classifications, international occupational exposure limits, regulatory information, occupational exposure survey data and reference to toxicological reviews and NIOSH and OSHA analytical methods. Part of CCOHS (Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) Web Information Service.

    Scopus (connect | more information)

    Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature. Includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, patent records and quality web sources. Seamless links to full text sources where the library holds a subscription.

  • Includes full text
  • Sittig's handbook of toxic and hazardous chemicals and carcinogens (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • Spectral Database for Organic Compounds : SDBS (connect | more information)

    SDBS is an integrated spectral database system for organic compounds, which includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum.

    Standards : on-line premium (connect | more information)

    Allows searching of the complete databases of Australian Standards (over 7,700 standards) as well as ISO (International Organization for Standardization); IEC (International Electrotechnical Commission); ETSI (European Telecommunications Standards Institute); and English language DIN (Deutsches Institut fu¿¿r Normung) and JIS (Japanese Industrial Standards Committee) standards (over 34,000); excluding ISO and IEC draft standards. The full text of most Australian Standards may be viewed (exceptions being some handbooks, documents where the copyright is shared or drafts which are "clones" of other non-Australian standards), saved to file or printed.

  • Includes full text

  • Monash students and staff only
    Licence restrictions: 3 simultaneous users only. It is very important that you "Logout" after a session.
    If the screen says that you have logged out when you begin, choose a search option from the menu on the left. Additional users may be allowed as "guest access" to search, but will not be able to print standards. Please try again later if that occurs.
    Please note:
    - The Online Subscription Service does not include fulltext online access to all ISO Standards, IEC Standards, ETSI Standards, JIS Standards (as they are not part of the subscription) and some Australian Standards and Handbooks (where Standards Australia does not own the copyright).
    - Standards downloaded to your PC will expire after 48 hours. However, they may still be accessed on-line.

    Ullmann's encyclopedia of industrial chemistry (connect | more information)

    This encyclopedia is the benchmark reference in all areas of industrial chemistry and chemical and life-science engineering. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc. Its major articles are well-illustrated with charts and figures and extensive bibliographies.

  • Includes full text
  • Web of science (connect | more information)

    Web of Science provides access to journal citations, selected abstracts and cited references contained in three separate ISI citation databases: Science citation index expanded (SCI-Expanded); Social sciences citation index (SSCI); and, Arts & humanities citation index (A&HCI). Also added in 2008: Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (CPCI-S)--1990-present, and Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (CPCI-SSH)--1990-present. Citation databases are used to follow a line of research from a known older key piece of work (book, journal article, unpublished work, etc) to more recent research by searching the reference lists of recent journal articles. Although not its primary strength, Web of Science could be useful for cross disciplinary searching.

     

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases