Skip to content | Change text size

International trade

Key resources

APA-FT - Australian Public Affairs - full text (connect | more information)

Indexing and full text database that provides access to published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: APAIS : Australian public affairs information service

    APAIS : Australian public affairs information service (connect | more information)

    Bibliographic database that indexes published material on Australian social sciences and humanities. Source documents include periodicals, newspapers, scholarly journals, conference papers, and books. Subject coverage includes business, health, current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences.
    See also: Australian Public Affairs - Full Text

    Australian Bureau of Statistics (connect | more information)

    The Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) web site provides comprehensive access to over 270,000 pages of Australian statistical and reference information. There are statistics on the following themes: economy; environment and energy; industry; people; and regions. Included are statistical publications on agriculture, demography, finance, labour, manufacturing, national accounts, prices, service industries, social trends, trade and transport.

    Business source premier (connect | more information)

    Business Source Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business publications. Covers nearly every area of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Business Source Premier also includes other sources of full text information, such as country economic reports from the EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group and CountryWatch, and detailed company profiles for the world's 10,000 largest companies and industry reports from Datamonitor.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: ABI/INFORM global

    Econlit (connect | more information)

    Leading index to articles from over 550 economics journals, including selected Australian titles. Also indexes essays, research and working papers, books, dissertations and book reviews.

    Factiva (connect | more information)

    Factiva provides access to full text coverage of major Australian newspapers (including The Age, The Sydney Morning Herald and The Australian), as well as global newspapers and news wires. Coverage for The Australian, Financial Review and BRW is from 2007, with abstracts only. Factiva also includes company profiles and financial information for listed companies worldwide, and historical financial market data.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above. Monash students and staff only
    Note: If you see this message: "The user ID and password you have entered are already in use. Please try again later or click on the Having trouble logging in link next to the login button of your product for assistance. (Error:131005)" it means that Monash has used up all available licences. It does NOT relate to your Authcate password. Please try again later.

    Global Market Information Database. See: Passport GMID (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • IBSS : international bibliography of the social sciences (connect | more information)

    The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is an online resource for social science and interdisciplinary research. Incorporating over 100 languages and countries, IBSS includes nearly two million bibliographic references to journal articles and to books, reviews and selected chapters. Over 2,700 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books included each year. Abstracts are provided for half of all current journal articles and full text availability is continually increasing.

  • Includes full text
  • Passport GMID (connect | more information)

    GMID contains over a million demographic, economic and marketing statistics for 205 countries worldwide. The database also contains 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts.

  • Includes full text
  •  


    Other resources

    ABI/INFORM global (connect | more information)

    Includes in-depth coverage for over 2,700 publications, with more than 2,000 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: Business Source Premier | Australian Public Affairs - Full Text
    Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    AGIS plus text (connect | more information)

    AGIS Plus Text is an indexing and full text database that provides access to journal articles on all aspects of law. Source documents include Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals, and selected articles from major law journals from the United States, Canada and the United Kingdom. Subject coverage includes all aspects of law including administrative law, banking, companies and securities, constitutional law, copyright law, criminal law, environmental law, family law, human rights, international law, legal aid, and trade practices. Over 140 peer reviewed journals are indexed.

  • Includes full text

  • See also: AGIS : Attorney-General's information service | CaseBase

    APEC literature database : APECLIT (connect | more information)

    Focus includes economic cooperation, international trade and trade law, labour and development issues, environment and tourism. Indexes journals (including Australian titles), books, academic papers, reports and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1988 to 2002.

    Documents online [WTO] (connect | more information)

    Provides access to the official documentation of the World Trade Organization (WTO), including the legal texts of the WTO agreements, from 1995 onwards, with daily updates. Also contains selected material for the period 1986-1994, principally Uruguay Round documents and a small number of GATT documents.Note: this database does not contain WTO publications.

  • Includes full text
  • Doing business : comparing business regulations (connect | more information)

    "The Doing Business Database provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement. The Doing Business indicators are comparable across 145 economies. They indicate the regulatory costs of business and can be used to analyze specific regulations that enhance or constrain investment, productivity and growth." Links to the annual report: Doing business in [year].

  • Includes full text
  • EBSCOhost research databases (connect | more information)

    Provides access to full text and/or bibliographic databases to which Monash University Library currently subscribes. These databases index journals and other periodical sources in the fields of science, technology, economics and business.

  • Includes full text
  • EISIL (connect | more information)

    EISIL provides access to the highest quality primary materials, authoritative web sites and helpful research guides to international law on the Internet.

    EIU country reports & profiles. See: ViewsWire (connect | more information)

    Access to EIU country reports & profiles has been discontinued. Equivalent information for an expanded range of countries is now available via EIU ViewsWire.

  • Includes full text
  • Expanded academic ASAP (connect | more information)

    Expanded Academic ASAP contains citations and many full-text articles on current events, general sciences, social sciences, and humanities. Designed primarily to support undergraduate-level research, the database is useful to anyone seeking information on these topics. Journal coverage is from 1994 to the present, and backfiles (1980-1993) are available for some journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Also available: Library online tutorials

    GATT digital library 1947-1994 (connect | more information)

    This site provides access to documents and information of and about the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), an organization that promoted international commerce and the reduction of trade barriers among member states from 1947-1994. Over 59,000 public documents and 300 publications of the GATT are accessible from this site, a digital library created in a partnership between the Stanford University Libraries & Academic Information Resources (SULAIR) and the World Trade Organization (WTO).

  • Includes full text
  • Globalization and labor standards : GALS bibliographic library (connect | more information)

    This bibliographic database contains abstracts of recent law journal articles exploring international labour standards in the global economy. Taken from English language law journals from around the world, GALS provides an alphabetical list of summarised articles, followed by citations categorised by subject heading. Current subject headings include: codes of conduct, child labor, NAFTA, WTO, ILO, women's rights, etc. The database can be browsed by subject, author, journal, or searched by keyword.

    IMF direction of trade statistics (connect | more information)

    This service provides access to monthly, quarterly and annual trade data from 1948 forward, as maintained by the International Monetary Fund. Data are provided for about 180 countries and geographic areas. Date of last update: March, 1999. Data is available in graph, table, spreadsheet or merged format.

    Index to foreign legal periodicals (connect | more information)

    Indexes articles as well as book reviews from more than 540 legal periodicals worldwide. It covers international law (public and private), comparative and foreign law, and municipal law, and includes materials in all languages. It does not cover articles about the legal systems of the United States, Great Britain, Canada and Australia. IFLP also analyses the contents of appoximately 80 individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Melanges and congress reports each year.
    Restricted to 4 simultaneous users.
    On Sundays between 11.00 -14.00 hours this database may be temporarily unavailable.

    Index to legal periodicals (connect | more information)

    Indexes legal journals, books, book reviews, yearbooks, institute and bar association organs, law reviews, and government publications originating in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. It includes thorough coverage of American law journals and selective coverage of law journals from the other jurisdictions.

    International trade and U.S. antitrust law (connect | more information)

    Contains: 1. Analysis of when U.S. law applies to foreign firms doing business in the U.S. and to U.S. firms abroad. 2. Exploration of the effect of globalization on competition between domestic and foreign markets and discusses current U.S. statutes, regulations, and case laws. 3. Discussion of the regulation of dominant firms, extraterritoriality, antitrust problems in export transactions, transnational litigation issues, international transfer of technology and intellectual property issues, competition and fairly traded imports, and "unfair" international trade practices. -- Information page.

  • Includes full text
  • KluwerArbitration (connect | more information)

    An international commercial arbitration database of primary and secondary materials, with full text access. Includes conventions, legislation, institutional rules, model clauses, case law and commentary from leading publications.

  • Includes full text
  • LegalTrac (connect | more information)

    A major bibliographic database that indexes and selectively abstracts articles from law reviews and, speciality law and bar association journals and legal newspapers on cases studies, government regulations, practice of law, statutes, and legal subjects such as taxation and international law. It also covers law related articles for approximately 1000 additional business and general interest titles. Some full text articles are included. Geographical coverage includes the U.S. Canada, U.K. and Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.

  • Includes full text

  • This database only works in Internet Explorer 5.5 or above.
    See also: Legal Resource Index on Lexis.com

    LexisNexis (connect | more information)

    The Monash subscription provides access to materials on administrative law, corporations, intellectual property, forms and precedents, and general legal research tools that include a dictionary, an encyclopaedia, case citator, statute annotators and current law developments. Decisions from the Commonwealth and State courts and England are included, as well as the full text of some Australian law journals. Unreported Judgments and Australian Law Reports and Australian Current Law updated daily. Most other resources updated monthly.

  • Includes full text

  • Alternative access

    LexisNexis : total research system (connect | more information)

    LexisNexis is an international online legal research tool providing full-text access to case law, statutes, administrative materials, annotated reports, law reviews, current affairs, etc. from the United States, United Kingdom, Canada, Europe, Australia, and many other jurisdictions around the world. (Not the first choice for Australian legislation or case law.)

  • Includes full text

  • Online help: In order to effectively use the system JavaScript and cookies must be enabled. Please see Minimum System Requirements if you are having problems using LexisNexis with IE6.
    Note: Individual passwords to customise the lexis.com interface are still available for Law Faculty and Business Law & Tax staff if desired. Click here to use your password or email Law Library staff for help.

    OECD. See: SourceOECD (connect | more information)

  • Includes full text
  • ProQuest Asian business and reference (connect | more information)

    ProQuest Asian Business and Reference offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere from over 270 journals. A great deal of information on international trade is available as well. Covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, and many more. Includes full text for selected journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    ProQuest European business (connect | more information)

    Indexing and abstracting database that provides access to more than 120 journals (predominantly European) covering business, management, trade and finance. Includes full text for selected journals.

  • Includes full text

  • Note: Reset your ProQuest Session (remove PQ cookie from your browser) by using this link

    SourceOECD (connect | more information)

    SourceOECD is the publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and consists of three sections that include Books and Reports by Theme, Periodicals, and Statistics. OECD, based in Paris, is a forum permitting governments of industrialized democracies to study and formulate policies in all economic and social spheres. Subjects covered include: economics, business, social sciences, development, statistics, environment, education, agriculture, investment, finance and governance.

  • Includes full text
  • TransLex (connect | more information)

    TransLex can be used in different ways. Search the entire website or browse through any of the four Sections of TransLex. Sections of TransLex are : Principles, Bibliography, Materials or Links. The TransLex-Principles contain more than 120 principles and rules of transnational law, the New Lex Mercatoria. Translex-Biblio is a selected collection of bibliographic references on transnational law organized in alphabetical order. TransLex-Materials are a collection of domestic statutes, international conventions, model laws, restatements and other soft-law instruments which are of relevance for anybody doing research in transnational law and international business law. The TransLex-Links are a selected collection of links to sites which are relevant for anybody doing research in transnational law and international business law.

  • Includes full text
  • UNILEX on CISG & UNIDROIT principles : international case law & bibliography (connect | more information)

    UNILEX is an ¿¿¿intelligent¿¿¿ database of international case law and bibliography on the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods (CISG) and on the UNIDROIT Principles of International Commercial Contracts - two of the most important international instruments for the regulation of international commercial transactions. UNILEX contains: detailed abstracts of the most important cases decided under both instruments by courts and arbitral tribunals worldwide; the full text of each decision in its original language (when available); the complete texts of the CISG and the UNIDROIT Principles; a status report on the state of ratifications of the CISG, including reservations and declarations by States parties to the Convention; a comprehensive bibliography for each instrument.

  • Includes full text
  • ViewsWire (connect | more information)

    The EIU ViewsWire is a web-based intelligence service from the Economist Intelligence Unit. It delivers analysis on key economic, political and business developments around the world. Contains EIU country reports & profiles. Each country is allotted an individual home page, which can be bookmarked, displaying a selection of data and a range of information available on that country. Choosing a country takes you directly to that country's home page. Once there, topics for each country as well as sub-categories for each topic are clearly displayed on the main body of the page. The country reports analyse political and economic trends, provide an 18 to 24 month forecast complementing the analysis, and include five-year statistical tables of historical data.

  • Includes full text
  • Westlaw.Australia (connect | more information)

    Provides access to Australian and international sources of legal information. Australian information includes: Cases, Law Reports, Unreported Judgments, Commonwealth Legislation, Commonwealth Regulations, Corporations Law, Financial Services Law, Regulation and Compliance (APRA, ASIC, ASX, SFE, AUSTRAC, FICS, Treasury), News Sources (AFR, BRW, SMH, Dow Jones, APP News, Reuters etc) and Codes of Practice and Standards.

  • Includes full text

  • Not the first choice for Australian legislation or case law.
    Online help: Alternative access to Westlaw is available if the link above does not work.
    Note: Individual passwords to customise the Westlaw interface are available for Law Faculty staff and Law HDR students if desired. Click here to use your password or email Law Library staff for help.

    World trade online (connect | more information)

    U.S. database providing trade-related news and information from around the world and from the World Trade Organisation (WTO), with links to full text documents.

  • Includes full text
  • WorldTradeLaw.net : the online source for world trade law. (connect | more information)

    Searchable full text of GATT/WTO Panel and Appellate Body reports; WTO arbitration awards and decisions; Uruguay Round agreements; Tokyo Round agreements; Doha decisions/declarations; NAFTA Chapter 20 Panel reports; NAFTA and related legal instruments; Dispute settlement commentaries (DSCs) for awards and decision, and primary source documents related to international trade law.

  • Includes full text
  •  

    Ask a question Phone +61 3 9905 5054 or use our enquiry services ask.monash for Monash students and staff | ask.monash for visitors, or online chat.
    Your opinion Feedback form for Monash staff and students | Feedback form for visitors

     
    MultiSearch

    Try our multi database search tool, MultiSearch.

    See also
    New electronic resources on trial
    Provide your feedback:
    Trial databases
    Accessing databases